Zoning Board of Appeals

The Zoning Board of Appeals (ZBA) consists of five members and an alternate appointed by the Township Board. One member must be a Planning Commission member and one member must be from the Township Board. The remaining ZBA members must be Township electors. Each member’s term is three years; unless filling a vacancy, all vacancies are filled for the remainder of the term. The ZBA hears and decides from any order, requirement, decision or determination made by any administrative official charged with zoning ordinance enforcement. It also hears and decides all other matters referred to it in the Township Ordinance. Variances may be granted if practical difficulty or unnecessary hardship will result from conforming to the Ordinance, provided the spirit of the ordinance is observed, public safety secured and substantial justice done.  Hardships should not be self-created and some unique circumstances involving the property in question should be evident to support a variance. You can get an application to serve on the ZBA by Clicking Here.

 The Zoning Board of Appeals meet on the third Wednesday of every month at 7:00 pm, if needed. The members are:

James D. Short Chair  Term expires December 31, 2022 
Shawn Blue   Term expires December 31, 2024
Robert Mihelich   Term expires December 31, 2024
Frederick J. Nagler   Term expires December 31, 2023
Nicolette Leigh   Term expires December 31, 2023
Maryanne Sydlick (1st alternate)   Term expires December 31, 2022
Trustee Lisa Moaiery (2nd alternate) Moaiery@ktwp.org  Term expires November 20, 2022
Katarina Kusmack planner@ktwp.org    
McKenna & Assoc.   Kalamazoo Township Planning Consultants



1720 Riverview Drive Kalamazoo, MI 49004


Phone: (269) 381-8080 Fax: (269) 381-3550


8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

8:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.




Local Weather

Kalamazoo Township WEATHER