Contact Information

Emergency/Fire/Rescue:  911

Fire Department - Administration
Fire Chief - David J. Obreiter
1720 Riverview Drive
Kalamazoo, MI 49004
Phone:  (269)-381-8080 ext. 124
Fax:  (269) 381-3550

Station 1 - Northwood
Battalion Chief:  Jairus Baird
2617 North Burdick Street
Kalamazoo, MI 490007
Phone:  (269) 344-1466
Fax:  (269) 344-9904

Station 2 - Eastwood
Battalion Chief - Matt Mulac
2703 East Main Street
Kalamazoo, MI 49048
Phone:  (269) 345-0313
Fax:  (269) 345-6398

Station 3 - Lakewood
Contact Station 2 - Eastwood
3100 Lake Street
Kalamazoo, MI 49048

Station 4 - Westwood
Deputy Chief:  Michael J. Weidemann
1310 Nichols Road
Kalamazoo, MI 49006
Phone:  (269) 343-1811
Fax:  (269) 343-1713

Fire Marshal
Captain Todd Kowalski

1720 Riverview Drive
Kalamazoo, MI 49004
Phone:  (269) 381-8080 ext. 115
Fax:  (269) 381-3550

Captain Todd J. Martin
1720 Riverview Drive
Kalamazoo, MI 49004
Phone:  (269) 381-8080 ext.133
Fax:  (269) 381-3550

Paid On-call Firefighters

Township of Kalamazoo Fire Department

Have you ever considered serving your community in a rewarding and exciting way?

The Township of Kalamazoo Fire Department maintains approximately 65 part-time, paid on-call firefighters that are made up of area residents that respond to emergency situations as needed.   Paid on-call fire fighters work under the general supervision of the officers of the department and perform the duties of emergency fire and medical response operations for the residents of Kalamazoo Township and surrounding communities.

This position requires a moderate time commitment associated with training and emergency responses.  All required training is provided by the Township of Kalamazoo.If you have any questions regarding the position, please contact the fire chief at (269) 381-8080 or at

Click Here for the full job description and qualifications.

Click Here for the job application.

Fire Department Annual Report

Click here for the 2020 Fire Department Annual Report.









Emergency Warning Sirens Discontinued in 2019

The Township of Kalamazoo has a total of nine pole-mounted emergency warning sirens.  There is one siren at each of the four fire stations and five additional sirens located within the township.  The sirens located at the fire stations were installed in the 1960’s and the five additional sirens located within the township were donated by the Palisades Power Plant in 2004 after about fifteen years of service at their original location.

Due to the age of the emergency warning sirens, there are currently no parts available and all temporary maintenance options to keep the warning sirens in a working and reliable condition have been exhausted.  The cost to replace the nine pole-mounted warning sirens is approximately $250,000.  This figure does not include placing any additional sirens that are needed to provide for a more inclusive coverage of Kalamazoo Township.

After much research and many discussions, it has been determined that the best course of action is to discontinue the use of the emergency warning sirens within the Township of Kalamazoo.  This decision was mainly based on the availability of newer technologies in long range weather forecasting and early alert warning programs currently available with cell phones, computers and commercially available weather alert receivers.

As the Township moves from the use of the emergency warning sirens, residents should take the time to become more familiar with planning ahead for disasters.  The increased push for family preparedness is an important first step to assist with the recovery of our community in the event of a disaster.  The Department of Homeland Security manages a website that was developed to provide citizens with the tools training and information that is needed to become more prepared.  Please visit for more information on disaster preparedness and early emergency warning programs available to you.  As we near the end of 2018, more emergency preparedness information and local resources will be highlighted on the township website.

Weather radios are now available for purchase at our cost, at Kalamazoo Township for $25.



1720 Riverview Drive Kalamazoo, MI 49004


Phone: (269) 381-8080 Fax: (269) 381-3550


8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

8:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.




Local Weather

Kalamazoo Township WEATHER