Climate Committee


A climate emergency action plan was unanimously approved by the Kalamazoo Township Board on Monday April 11. A committee comprised of 3 board members and 5 township citizens worked for a year to create the plan with actionable steps towards carbon neutrality for our community. An automobile and light equipment purchase policy which requires consideration of EV or hybrid to be the first step when the township replaces vehicles and equipment was also unanimously adopted. Other highlights of the plan include: improving the energy efficiency of township buildings including the new Eastwood Fire Station; increasing the amount of energy derived from sustainable sources for our township buildings; plans for collaboration with other entities working on climate issues with a strong proposal for creating a county wide, paid, full time position dedicated to coordinating regional efforts to combat climate change; and working harder to keep citizens informed of progress as well as ways they can decrease their own carbon footprint and save money at the same time.

Committee Membership

  • Mark Miller, chair
  • Dexter Mitchell, township manager
  • Ashley Glass, secretary
  • Lisa Moaiery, trustee
  • Craig Sherwood, township resident
  • Nicholette Leigh, township resident
  • Tom Stegink, township resident
  • Jennifer Drake, township resident
  • Tim Tesar, township resident
Home Energy Efficiency Resources
Recycling Resources
Public Transportation
Electric Vehicles & Charging Infrastructure
Climate Resiliency Resources
Get Involved in Township Climate Action
Close window